The Pleasant Farm

Life & Family

Luck Of The Irish March 22, 2012

Filed under: HPFD,Pictures to Share — Jess Z. @ 10:39 am
Tags: , ,

Luckily, St. Patrick’s Day ended up being an absolutely gorgeous Saturday!

Luckily, it was a nearly perfect morning for a 5-mile run/walk.  A bit humid, a bit misty… but nothing worth complaining about!

Luckily, Trent was in a great mood and ready for a stroller ride.

Luckily, I like running with company.  And every now and then, it’s fun to run with over 13,000 others!

Luckily, I am highly amused by crazy people.  We saw people in tutus, costumes, headpieces… dogs with hair dyed green…

…at one point, Jackie said “Look, there’s a jogging stroller … of Guiness!”

We saw one sign that read “Run faster, the beer is getting warm!”

We were well hydrated and didn’t find the need for any beverages during the run, but luckily there were plenty of opportunities for beer if we’d been thirsty.

Luckily, I am very sympathetic towards pregnant women who need to stop to pee during a run.  I’m actually proud that Jackie only had to stop once!

Luckily, I don’t think I ran over any ankles with Trent’s stroller.  Those things can be dangerous, ya know!

Luckily, we made it to the finish line.  I’m ready for next year– when we each have a jogging stroller to deal with!

The evening of St. Patrick’s Day was the Annual Chicken’n’Beer Dance that serves as a fundraiser for the Highland Fire Department and Highland-Pierron Fire Department.

Luckily, we had an incredible turn-out of people.  Maybe they were there for the Well Hungarians… maybe they were there for the green beer… maybe they were there to support firefighters!

Luckily, the dance serves as an opportunity for people to relax and have a good time– some people find it hard to just relax!

Luckily, there is no such thing as “tagging” on my blog.

Shockingly, I did snag a picture with my handsome husband.

Luckily, I’m not the jealous type!

The band was as fantastic as their reputation.  Luckily, we booked ’em!

Luckily, Crazy Heather never disappoints.  In 20 years, I’ll be taking pics of her dancing up a storm with a beer in her hand.

Trent didn’t win any of the cash raffle prizes, but I explained to him that he can’t be lucky all of the time!

While pictures do say 1,000 words, luckily I don’t have to try to explain all of them.

Luckily, the fundraiser was a huge success.  Now we can start planning next year’s dance!

The Luck of the Irish was certainly with us on St. Patrick’s Day.  I can’t wait for next year!

 

Leave a comment