The Pleasant Farm

Life & Family

Bats And Asparagus November 10, 2011

Filed under: Family — Jess Z. @ 1:20 pm

Call me anti-festive, but I had no plans to dress my baby up for Halloween.  I knew we’d be sitting up at the firehouse the night of Halloween festivities, and it seemed to me that my 7-week old really wouldn’t care if he was dressed as a $45 mummy, penguin, or panda bear.  Then my sister found a cute bat costume for $6 that was a simple & warm onesie and alas, my little one had a Halloween costume.

My little bat has purple ears and wings attached to his warm fleece onesie!

Here we are at my grandma and grandpa’s house, doing a little “trick or treating”.  Trent came away empty-handed (but come on, he really has no need for treats!) but I came away with homemade donuts.  Jackpot!

My sister was there also to trick-or-treat with my nephew, Gus… dressed up as asparaGUS!

Grandpa & Grandma love having little visitors!  And trust me, Gus did not come away empty-handed!

Our next (and last) stop was the firehouse.  Highland-Pierron Fire Department hosted its 2nd annual open house on Halloween– an opportunity to invite the community in to meet the firemen, look at the trucks, and enjoy some chili, hot dogs, and hot chocolate.  Not to mention a chance for trick-or-treaters to grab some candy!

Here’s Todd in front of the firehouse with the cousins, a bat and an asparagus!

Mr. Gus loves the fire trucks…

…but not as much as he loves his suckers!

My mom enjoyed some bat-time.

We saw trick-or-treaters dressed as firemen, Jessie & Woody from Toy Story, witches, princesses, X-Men…

…skunks, gypsies, skeletons, dinosaurs…

…lions, tigers, and bears!  Here’s Trent with his cousin the lion!

Trent had a fun 1st Halloween, and I look forward to all the years from now that he’ll get into the spirit with a costume.  The difference is that he’ll start to have a preference and even get excited about the whole trick-or-treating process.  We’re going to have so much fun!

 

Leave a comment