The Pleasant Farm

Life & Family

The Holidays Are Here! November 23, 2011

Filed under: Family — Jess Z. @ 5:05 pm

There’s a lot of unhappy people out there.  Trust me: I get it.  I understand that people are upset that Thanksgiving seems to be shrouded by the excitement and preparation of the next holiday an entire month away.  They say that Thanksgiving is forgotten.  That the holiday for giving THANKS is blown over to instead prepare for a holiday that’s all about RECEIVING.

I disagree.

I enjoy Thanksgiving.  I really do love getting together with me and Todd’s families.  I love the turkey, the pies, the rolls, the rolls, and the rolls.  Not in that order though– I love the rolls the most.

But I LUH-UH-UH-UH-UHVE Christmas.  Not much excites me more than decorating the tree, picking out wrapping paper, preparing gifts with ribbons and gift tags, and most of all shopping for those I love.

For me, Christmas is not about what’s on my list.  I’m not breezing over Thanksgiving, ignoring those in my life I’d like to give thanks for.  Rather I’m bouncing off the walls about those perfect gifts that someone will love– a certain someone whom I love.

My life is chock-full of wonderful people– I am so blessed.  While I sit down to my Thanksgiving dinner of rolls with a side of turkey, I’m thankful for each one of you who makes my life so rich.  And I’m mentally contemplating the perfect Christmas gift for you!

So let’s not all be ticked off that the stores are blaring “Jingle Bells”– the towns are decorating with lights– the mailbox is full of gift catalogues.  The Holidays are here.  It’s time to give thanks for our families, friends, and the One whose birth we will be celebrating next month.  And I don’t see any reason why I shouldn’t combine my holiday spirit into multiple weeks of thankfulness!

Weeks of Christmas songs, gift wrapping, card opening, and shopping.  Unfortunately it can’t also be weeks of eating rolls or I’ll never get back into my jeans!

Speaking of my jeans, here’s some pictures from our baby boy’s baptism last Sunday– and you guessed it, we’re surrounded by those we love!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a comment