The Pleasant Farm

Life & Family

Dear (9-Year-Old) Trent September 9, 2020

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jess Z. @ 9:31 am

Dear (9-Year-Old) Trent,

You are nearly as tall as many of my friends.  Your feet are as big as some of my friends’ feet.  And year after year, your heart grows bigger too!  2020 has been a strange year for everyone in the world, but we learned some important traits in each other through it all.  While we were homeschooling in the spring, I learned that you and your brother were thrilled to be home—together.  Neither of you missed school or friends or teachers, and insisted that you were happier having me “teach” you than you would have been to actually still be in school.  I’m glad you have a little brother who is your best friend, but I want you to know I see you.

I see you go with him to get a pair of socks or find his froggy or grab something from the basement, because he won’t go alone.  I see you accompany him to the restroom at the rec center, again, because he won’t go alone.  I see you pick up his trash, grab his shoes, and sneak cuddles with him on the couch.  I often wish he would learn to be a little more independent and stop relying on you, because he is obviously old enough to take care of himself.  But it’s also a little heartwarming: not to see him rely on you, but to see you continue to indulge him.  I know someday you’ll watch him go outside of his comfort zone and you will be really proud and a little sad.  And guess how Daddy and I feel watching you go so confidently forward in the world?  So proud.  And a little sad.


You have always been the big-hearted, confident kid.  You follow rules and do the right thing.  When you see others do wrong, we have great discussions that would normally be a little too complex for kids your age.  You love BIG.  You love trains BIG, you love the kitty BIG, you love your Daddy and brother BIG, and I know you love me BIG too.

Your brother was being extra ornery the other morning and feeling upset that he felt like you loved your birthday more than him.  The plans and excitement for your party were mounting, and he was feeling left out.  It upset you that he was upset, and here’s what you told me:

“I told him I love him the most, then my birthday #2, then Christmas #3.  And when it’s Christmastime then Christmas is #2 and my birthday is #3.  But he is always my #1!  I told him that!  And he doesn’t believe me!”

I laughed on the inside because it was so ridiculously sweet.  Then I solemnly nodded with you because I realized how offended you were, and promised that Tyson was just being crabby and to let him be.  You prove time and time again how dedicated you are to that little boy, and it’s true, he often takes you for granted!  Your daddy and I fully recognize what a blessing you are—and not just because you like to follow the rules.  We are entering an age where we have to reset a little attitude sometimes, and you are perfecting your eye-roll, but you are still just stinkin’ sweet and we are so in love with your personality. 

You wake up happy and at full-speed, and like your dad, will continue at full-speed unless forced to stop.  You love Roblox, chicken nuggets (still and probably always), and Double Bubble bubble gum.  You hate wasps, Beelman semi trucks, and being forced to eat things you aren’t familiar with.  You give the best hugs, tell long stories, and get off the bus saying “School. Was. GREAT!”  In some ways it doesn’t seem possible for you to be 9 and in other ways we are seeing glimpses of this young boy who might roll his eyes, but is still pretty great.  And I look forward to knowing everything about him, even if I don’t make the top 3 on his list! (Wink wink)  Happy Birthday Trenty!!!

Love you forever and ever,

Mommy

 

Leave a comment